Articles on: Contacts & users

Users / Contacts / Teams / Contact Groups / Roles


User


After a user is created, they receive an invitation via email and then have access to the project on buildagil based on their assigned teams and, if applicable, their assigned role:



In the following article, you'll learn how to create a new user: Create a New User



External Contacts


Contacts are used only for communication within projects, e.g., in the distribution list for meeting minutes of a Meeting or a Control & Inspection and cannot interactively collaborate on the project. The person is not notified that they have been added as a contact in the project. External contacts are marked as "External."


External contacts do not have access to the project.


Documents can be sent to external contacts using the "Send Externally" feature. For more information, see the following article: Sending Documents to External Parties


In the following article, you'll learn how to create a new contact: Create a New Contact



Project Administrators


Project administrators are identified by a "gear" icon in the contact list. Project administrators have access to all content in this project (regardless of visibility settings) and can edit all content; they are also the only ones who can Project settings). In addition, the project administrator controls access to buildagil (Invite Users and Deactivate User). Detailed information on this can be found in the following article: Visibility & Permissions.



Project Coordinators


Project coordinators have the ability to create additional users in addition to regular users. However, this requires approval from a project administrator. They can also change the visibility of folders they have created themselves. In addition, they are authorized to adjust task statuses and scheduling. Detailed information on this can be found in the following article: Visibility & Permissions.



Teams


Users and external contacts are assigned to one or more teams. Team assignments can be used to select multiple people at once (e.g., in tasks or information). Team assignments also control the visibility of items (folders, tasks, topics, meetings, etc.). Detailed information on this can be found in the following article: Visibility & Permissions. Teams can be edited in the Project settings.



Contact Groups


Users and external contacts can be assigned to one or more contact groups (provided that contact groups have been defined in the project). Assigning contacts to a contact group can be used to select multiple people at once (e.g., in tasks or information). Contact groups can be defined in the Project settings.


Updated on: 19/10/2026

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!